Take Aways From Atlanta NodeJS Meetup

Awesome time at my first NodeJS Atlanta Meetup. I was a much smaller group than they usually have so it allowed a lot of young developers to ask questions. Having only ran up simple NodeJS servers so far it was a great experience to hear from some who sit on the backend all the time. Here are a couple takeaways:

“As always this is for my sanity, not yours”

ARE PROMISES CURRIED FUNCTIONS?

I dig Promises, they make things simple to understand. If something resolves .then() do this next thing. New work on Promises and ES6 HERE (not sure I understand it all).

Function currying is creating a function that takes # variables and creating a copy of that function that takes a different # of variables:

Screen Shot 2016-05-20 at 11.51.11 AM

MY TAKE IS YES?…….MAYBE?

Yes, if we look at both currying and promises as guaranteeing something to be passed to the next function from a function that has finished executing (Closure).

 

HOW TO LAND A JOB DISCUSSION

Michael Gokey, Industry Veteran-

Fix a problem for me. Show me you can fix a problem I have in the interview. When you get in the door keep doing that for EVERYONE! The Business Dev guy had a $2 Million presentation on the line and his computer went down. Rather than shrug it off, I set him up on my computer. It took me off line for 3 hours, but I fixed a problem, helped him and I in the long run.

Also, there is a huge separation in opinions on the value of GitHUB with younger developers and hiring managers focusing on it and older developers not feeling that it has much value.

 

LEARNING FROM THE VETS

I enjoyed connecting afterwards with long time developers. Couple things on the list to check out:

Codality

Bower

Google Style Guide for JavaScript

Idiomatic JavaScript

 

Take Aways From Atlanta NodeJS Meetup

Leave a Reply

