I’m In An Abusive Relationship: With Code Wars

Code Wars: “Hey Ryan, come here take this challenge…… you know you want to”.

Me: “You ruined my life! I hate you! But, okay, one more time.”

I am in an abusive relationship, with Code Wars. Don’t get me wrong, I love it. But, as a younger developer it can be exhilarating or depressing experience. If you don’t know Code Wars is a website that allows people to tackle different coding challenges. I right now am a Level 5 hopefully soon to be a Level 4 (Level 1 is the best).

Some of the challenges are how might I say this? “Quite absurd” Here is an example:

Screen Shot 2016-05-20 at 12.02.52 AM

The amount of things I need to google in the picture above are astounding!

Though, completing these challenges is exhilarating, as a young programmer these can also be a bit confidence rabbit hole (imposter syndrome, no doubt), particularly when you have spent HOURS on a solution and compare it to others.

(node the code above, just an example)

Me: “4 hours, 37 lines of code”

Arsky8867: “2 lines of code, using .map() .filter() a ternary operator and a regular expression!”

Screen Shot 2016-05-20 at 12.12.28 AM

Seriously? What is this? This is voodoo?….. and I admire it.

“Unreadable code = bad code” yes, I’ve heard the pitch but as a newer coder and after taking hours of time I find this both frustrating and exciting.

I want more! More pain, please!

Ergo….. I am in an abusive relationship…. with Code Wars.

 

I’m In An Abusive Relationship: With Code Wars

Leave a Reply

